Press ESC to close

Oyo State Government to set up mini grids in four rural Communities across the State

The Oyo State government has announced that it is set to embark on the mini grid scheme to provide power for rural communities that have economic activities but are not connected to the national grid.

The Commissioner for Energy and Mineral Resources, Barrister Seun Kasamu made this known while newsmen at the State Secretariat after the 6th State Executive Council meeting of the year presided over by the Executive Governor, His Excellency, Engr. Seyi Makinde.

Barr. Kasamu said that during the meeting, the Executive Council gave the approval for the mini grid scheme which comprises of 4 local governments and communities.

The communities are Ajia community in Ona Ara local government, Otebo community in Atiba local government, Samo community in Iwajowa local government and Orisumibare community in Ogbomoso south local government area.

He further added that each of the mini grids will be centered around a health care or school to serve other public facilities and will also serve residences in the communities.

The implementation will be carried out by 4 contractors, each taking a community for the total sum of N575,000,000.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get latest offers, available jobs and trends in Oyo state, Follow Us

@oyomesioro on Instagram
This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: No feed with the ID 1 found.

Please go to the Instagram Feed settings page to create a feed.