Press ESC to close

Oyo State Debo Adesina Deployed To Togo as Buhari Approves Ambassadorial Nominees

President Muhammadu Buhari recently approved the deployment of some Ambassadors among which Debo Adeshina, an Oyo state indigene who was also a former Editor-in-chief of the Guardian newspaper, was also deployed as Nigerian Ambassador to Togo.

Also included were ex-Minister of State for Defence, Demola Seriki, to Spain as Nigerian Ambassador, ex-Minister of Mines and Steel, Sarafa Ishola, who hails from Ogun State, will serve as High Commissioner to the United Kingdom.

Eleven ambassadors were re-appointed, eight maintained their current countries of posting, and three others were redeployed.

Uzoma Emenike, a career diplomat and also the current Nigerian Ambassador to Ireland, was redeployed to the United States as the ambassador, and M.I. Bashir will serve as deputy ambassador.

There are 52 non-career envoys deployed by the President and 43 career ambassadors based on the Senate confirmed list.

Eight ambassadors will remain at their duty posts they are: Mohammed Rimi (United Arab Emirates), Jidda Baba (China), Gani Bura (Lebanon), Yusuf Tuggar (Germany), Baba Madugu (Switzerland) and Deborah Illiya (Congo).

Tijani Muhammad-Bande will maintain his office as the Permanent Representative to the United Nations, New York. While Adeyinka Asekun will remain the High Commissioner to Canada.

But, Modupe Irele, who currently serves as Ambassador to France, will be redeployed to Hungary while Eniola Ajayi, the Ambassador to Hungary is expected to be redeployed to the Netherlands.

For non-career diplomats, Ijeoma Chineyerem will resume as Ambassador to Ireland, Oma Djebah will be posted to Thailand, Abdulahi Shehu (Russia), Haruna Manta (South Africa), Kayode Laro (France), Paul Adikwu (The Vatican), Abubakar Moriki (Japan), Opunimi Akinkugbe (Greece) and Ali Magashi (South Korea). Other postings include M.O. Abam (Italy), N.A. Kolo (Israel), A. Sule (India), G.Y. Hamza (Ghana), A.N. Madubike (Australia) and O.C Onowu (Belgium).

The remaining appointees will serve as deputy ambassadors or heads of mission. They include A.E. Alleboy (Deputy Ambassador to France), G.E. Edokpa (Deputy Permanent Representative to The UN), Ben Okoyen (Cuba), G.M. Okeke (Deputy Head of Mission to Switzerland), S.Sani to London, (Deputy High Commissioner to the UK), I. A Iwejuo (Ethiopia as Deputy Ambassador), I.A. Alatishe (Deputy Ambassador to Russia) and I.R. Ocheni (Germany).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get latest offers, available jobs and trends in Oyo state, Follow Us

@oyomesioro on Instagram
This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: No feed with the ID 1 found.

Please go to the Instagram Feed settings page to create a feed.