Olubadan Sucession: Ibadan Obas Agree To Drop Their Crowns, Revert To High Chiefs

Members of the Olubadan-in-Council elevated to Obas by the Abiola Ajimobi administration, have agreed to drop their crowns and revert to High Chiefs to pave way for the next Olubadan of Ibadanland.

This decision was taken at a meeting held at the Oja’ba Palace of the Olubadan of Ibadanland on Thursday.

The meeting was attended by six of the members of the Olubadan-in-Council, namely High Chiefs Owolabi Olakulehin (Balogun of Ibadanland), Tajudeen Ajibola (Otun Balogun), Lateef Adebimpe (Osi-Balogun), Kola Adegbola (Ashipa Balogun), Eddy Oyewole (Ashipa Olubadan) and Hamidu Ajibade (Ekarun Olubadan).

On Tuesday, Governor Seyi Makinde had assured all indigenes and lovers of Ibadan that his administration will only carry out the Succession process in line with what the late Olubadan stood for, saying that he would “do what is right to preserve the integrity and sanctity of the traditional institution of Ibadan land.”

In an earlier interview with Oyomesioro, the Otun Olubadan, Senator Lekan Balogun, had said that the affected obas were ready to revert to their original positions following the directive of Governor Seyi Makinde that they should revert.

The Osi-Balogun, High Chief Tajudeen Ajibola, who briefed pressmen after the meeting, said they totally support the governor on his decision to revert to the original concept of Ibadan tradition.

He said, “We agreed with the governor. All the processes leading to the nomination of successor to the late Olubadan were in line with the original concept of line of hierarchy in accordance with the Olubadan Chieftaincy Declaration.”

Also Read  Oyo Labour Party Throws Weight Behind Abure as National Chairman, Denies Okafor

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button