Press ESC to close

LG Polls Updates: OYSIEC Insist On Conducting Elections in Only 33 LGAs

The Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) has declared that it will only conduct election in the 33 Local Government Areas due to their recognition by the nation’s 1999 constitution (as amended).

Babatunde Adeniyi, OYSIEC Electoral Commissioner in charge of Voter Education and Publicity, speaking with Tribune Online, said it is not in any archives that Oyo State Law must conduct election in the Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs).

Adding that the commission is merely just following the stipulations of the constitution over any other law or by-law.

“We are conducting election into the 33 LGs only because the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria recognises 774 local government areas and we have 33 local government areas in Oyo State, not 68 local government areas.

“And that is why this present OYSIEC decided that election be conducted only to the constitutionally recognised local government areas.

“We checked our archives for the said Oyo State Law and do not have that in OYSIEC. We do not have any information that election be conducted for other local government areas aside from the constitutionally recognised 33 local government areas.

“We don’t have, in our archives, Oyo State Law that says election should be conducted into LCDA apart from the 33 local government areas.

“Moreover, we know whenever there is a law contrary to that of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, the constitution takes precedence and any law created should be in tandem with the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” Adeniyi said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get latest offers, available jobs and trends in Oyo state, Follow Us

@oyomesioro on Instagram
This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: No feed with the ID 1 found.

Please go to the Instagram Feed settings page to create a feed.