Arapaja Resigns as Southwest PDP Chair, Adagunodo Succeeds Him

Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja, the People’s Democratic Party’s (PDP)’s elected deputy National Chairman (South), has resigned as the party’s southwest chairman.

Arapaja, who was a former Oyo Deputy Governor, was elected as the National Vice Chairman (Southwest) in a keenly contested election in April in Osogbo, the Osun state capital. He will be replaced by Soji Adagunodo, a former chairman of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in Osun state.

The southwest zonal executive confirmed Adagunodo’s nomination in a statement issued following a meeting at its zone secretariat in Ibadan, the Oyo state capital, on Wednesday.

Chief Atofarati, the Zonal Publicity Secretary, stated that Adagunodo’s nomination was unanimously approved.

“The gathering debated extensively on matters that concern the party’s development and cohesiveness in the region,” the statement states. The vacant position of national vice chairman and upcoming elections in Ekiti and Osun states, respectively, were among them.
“Upon the vacuum created by the election of Amb. Taofeek Arapaja as Deputy National Chairman (DNC), it has become expedient for the southwest zone to make a replacement for the vacant position of the vice national chairman.

“Pursuant to Section 47(6) of PDP Constitution (as amended in 2017), after a critical deliberation by the twenty-two (22) members of the zonal executive, the nomination of Hon. Olasoji Clement Adagunodo from Osun state was, adopted unanimously.”

He contested and won as the Deputy National President (South), at the just concluded national convention of the party.

Also Read  Criminals Don't Respect Anywhere In Ibadan Including Agodi GRA Where I live Close To Makinde - Kola Balogun

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button