Press ESC to close

Adelabu Fulfills His Promise, Donates N400,000 To Families of Slain Police Officers During #EndSARS

Chief Adebayo Adelabu, the All Progressives Congress (APC), governorship candidate in the 2019 election in Oyo state, has donated a cash sum of N400 000 each to the families of the five police officers lynched in Ibadan during the violence that engulfed the nationwide #EndSARS protests.

He made the presentation at his constituency office located at Jericho, Ibadan, on Thursday.

The wives of the late police officers present are Mrs Oladele Feranmi, Mrs Alidu Esther, Mrs Adegoke Bolanle, Mrs Peter Abegunde and Mrs Akanmu Beauty.

Adelabu also said the gesture has not only wiped off their tears, but it has also brightened their hope to attain the future their slain breadwinners had envisioned.

Adelabu described the slain officers as “heroes”, saying the deceased laid down their lives to secure lives and properties in the state.

He said the compensation was his modest personal reward for their bravery, emphasising that the gesture would help the families heal from the loss.

His words: “My father died when I was 4years old, so a widow brought me up. I understand how you’re feeling, and it’s my prayer that God will continue to be with your family and he will comfort you.

“This gesture is not politically motivated as I didn’t intend to make this open. But, the Oyo State Commissioner of Police compelled me to do this to avoid robbing Peter to pay Paul.

“This is not enough to take care of your family, but I’m doing this on behalf of my family to start from somewhere. I felt bad when I had that you’re yet to be compensated by the current government”, he said.

He added that he wouldn’t abandon the families.

Hajia Iyabo Aliu, the founder of Aliat Widow Centre, who lauded Bayo Adelabu for the kind gesture, urged the five widows to make judicious use of the money; told them to take care of their children and join widows’ organisations for a sense of belonging.

Also present at the event are; the wife of the former CBN Deputy-Governor, Chief (Mrs.) Oluseyi Adelabu, ALGON Chairman, Hon. Abass Aleshinloye, Alh. Abdulwasiu Ajimobi, Alh. Wasiu Sanusi, Hon. Wale Murphy, PCRC Chairman, Egbeda LG, Engr. Adisa, Hajia Iyabode Aliu, to mention a few.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get latest offers, available jobs and trends in Oyo state, Follow Us

@oyomesioro on Instagram
This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: No feed with the ID 1 found.

Please go to the Instagram Feed settings page to create a feed.